close menu
This website uses cookies to store your accessibility preferences. No personal / identifying information is stored. More info.

Resolution of Recognition and Appreciation

In the wake of disaster, rush of citizen solidarity helps flood-hit communities.
Citizens, organizations, businesses alike came forward to send a strong message of hope in the wake of Tropical Storm Irene and the damage it brought to Vermont. Organizations and businesses in our community have established themselves as drop off points for donations. Quoting a young Vermont couple in Rutland, “Vermonters are a unified front in the battle against the devastating losses suffered by our state in the recent hurricane”. They have T-shirts with “I Am Vermont Strong”.
Addison County Firefighter’s Association organized over 50 volunteer firefighters to bring themselves, tools and equipment to assist in the Rochester, Hancock, Stockbridge and Pittsfield area. Firefighters from Vergennes that went to Rochester to help on September 3, 2011 included Fire Chief Jim Breur, First Deputy Chief Chris Gebo, and firefighters Bill Brown, Les Champine, Tyler Pierce, and Donald Hall.
The Vergennes Public Works crew made preparations for the storm and continued to work during the storm picking up trees and branches that fell and checking on the water levels. Public Works Supervisor Jim Larrow visited the city docks several times during the night to check on the docks and boaters to ensure their safety. On September 10, 2011 Jim spent his day assisting in Moretown.
Additionally, there were numerous citizens that participated in the storm damage clean-up in various communities.
The Vergennes City Council resolves to recognize the generosity and extra effort given by our Fire Department members, Public Works Department employees and citizens of Vergennes during and after the damage to property and threat of personal safety brought by Tropical Storm Irene.
Approved this 13st day of September, 2011.
                                                       VERGENNES CITY COUNCIL
                                                             Mayor Michael Daniels
____________________________                                          _____________________________
Senior Alderman Randall Ouellette                                           Alderman David Austin
________________________­­­____                                          _____________________________
Alderman Lowell Bertrand                                                         Alderman Clara Comeau
_______________________­­­­_____                                          _____________________________
Alderman Peter Garon                                                                Alderman Joseph Klopfenstein